A number of state and local minimum wage rates are scheduled to increase on July 1, 2020.
Below is a summary of these changes and guidelines to help you comply with your minimum wage requirements.
State Minimum Wage
$10.00 per hour, $6.00 per hour base wage for tipped employees.
The state minimum applies to all employers with four or more employees (not counting family members), and to all domestic workers, regardless of how many employees their employer has.
Cook County Rules
$13.00 per hour, $5.30 per hour base wage for tipped employees.
Chicago, 4 – 20 employees: $13.50 per hour, $8.10 base wage for tipped employees.
Chicago, 21+ employees: $14.00 per hour, $8.40 base wage for tipped employees.
Illinois Human Rights Act (IHRA) / Harassment Prevention Training
Every employer with employees working in the State of Illinois is required to provide employees with sexual harassment prevention training that complies with Section 2-109 of the Illinois Human Rights Act (“IHRA”).
Employers may develop their own sexual harassment prevention training program that equals or exceeds the minimum standards for sexual harassment prevention or may use the model sexual harassment prevention training developed by the Illinois Department of Human Rights (“IDHR”).
In addition to the above mentioned training required, restaurants and bars are also required to provide supplemental sexual harassment prevention training that complies with Section 2-110 of the IHRA.
This applies to all employers who have 1 or more employees, the training must be completed by December 31, 2020.
Illinois FAQs can be found here.
Illinois Secure Choice Mandatory Retirement Program
Employers in Illinois who meet all of the following criteria are required to either facilitate a qualified retirement plan or participate in the Illinois Secure Choice (https://employer.ilsecurechoice.com/home/employers/program-details.html):
▪ Have 25 or more employees
▪ Have been in operation for at least two years
▪ Do not offer an employer-sponsored retirement plan